Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Taking on a child who has not had routine vaccinations

Hi

I have taken on a new child, baby will be 9 months old when they start. The parents have decided not to immunise the baby.

Should I mention anything about children who have not been immunised in any of my policies? I was thinking that maybe I need to be extra cautious about when they need to be sent home etc. I have had no experience of serious illness with mindees and am worried that I might miss some symptoms and the child become ill very quickly.

Pipsqueak Guest

its parental choice at the end of the day. I would not refuse to take on an unvaccinated child nor do I have anything in my policies about it.

i would perhaps swot up on some illness symptoms(such as what they get vacc'd for) so you can be prepared. Have you been fully vaccinated... people of a certain generation we missed or didn't get certain vacc's. I have never had mumps nor was I vaccinated for example. therefore whilst I can't prevent it I would take precautions and be vigilent.

Registered Childminder since
    Aug 94
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Its an interesting one, I have never had an un vacinated child. It will be interesting when they go to school because some schools are insisting all vacs are up-to-date.

Feb 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by rickysmiths View Post
    It will be interesting when they go to school because some schools are insisting all vacs are up-to-date.
    How can they do that? Surely that is prejudism?