Teacher childminder
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    PRE-REG
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Teacher childminder

Hi just wanted to gather some opinions. Most childminders in my area charge between £3 and £3,50. However, I'm a qualified teacher with lots of special needs and primary school experience. I have 2 small children of my own and only plan on minding 1 other. I hope to charge at least £4 an hour. Am I in fantasy land or do you think there is potential for parents to pay this?

Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Welcome to the forum!

Unfortunately you can only charge the same rate as other childminders in your local area regardless of your qualifications.

If you undercut you will be very unpopular and if you over charge you will be less likely to get business.

I am an ex teacher so I know the dilemma you are facing however at the end of the day it's down to what parents can afford.

Hth

Nov 04
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

i agree with Sarah hon. def. set yourself at the top end of the local rates but don't go over. work can be hard enough to find sometimes and you will price yourself out of the market. good luck though
    if you do what you've always done, you'll get what you've always got

pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by carriebird View Post
    Hi just wanted to gather some opinions. Most childminders in my area charge between £3 and £3,50. However, I'm a qualified teacher with lots of special needs and primary school experience. I have 2 small children of my own and only plan on minding 1 other. I hope to charge at least £4 an hour. Am I in fantasy land or do you think there is potential for parents to pay this?