Thread: NVQ /DHC

Registered Childminder since
    June 2007
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Default NVQ /DHC

Hi everyone

I am currently studying Diploma in Home Based Childcare but struggling to fit it in with going to college, doing assignment and working. I was wondering if anyone can tell me about the NVQ 2 and 3 in Childcare as considering going in that direction instead. Many thanks

Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Default Re: NVQ /DHC

I did an NVQ3 home study a few years ago - lots of paperwork, lots of which can be obs of you done by your assessor...

I spent a day a week in the local school so I could do all the assignments with relevant children and resources as well but if you have lots of children of different ages you wouldn't need to do that.

I enjoyed it but can't compare for you as I haven't done the other one.

JUNE 05
    Latest Inspection Grade
    GOOD
    Post Thanks / Like

I completed my NVQ3 in July last year and found it really easy. I think it is because it is completed at home and dont need to go out to college on a night.

Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

I like the NVQ because it is portable whereas Home Based is more restricted. You probably could go straight on to Level 3 and not have to do Level 2 at all. I was told that an NVQ Level 3 was the correct level for childminders as we are running our own business.

I went to college one night a week but never got much accomplished. I did most of my work at home or round a friend's who was on the same course. The work is not particularly hard but there can be a lot of it! Some of it was just like slogging through to get it done but mostly I found it really interesting and very helpful.
    Last edited by Tatia; 03-03-2008 at 10:21 AM.
    Why is "phonics" not spelled the way it sounds?

Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like