early years degree and PACEY
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Default early years degree and PACEY

I would like to know if I would need to do the PACEY childminding course, if I have an Early Years degree. I have contacted numerous people, including OFSTED and still have no reply. PACEY have advised me to find out before I enrol. Thankyou in advance

Registered Childminder since
    Oct 12
    Latest Inspection Grade
    GOOD! Hurrah
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

It's a requirement of the Early Years Foundation Stage that everyone has to do a local authority course before they can childmind, regardless of previous qualifications.

You will need to check with your local authority as to how they want you to do this, online/face to face course etc

Post Thanks / Like

Thumbs up

Thankyou Rick. I thought this would be the case but wanted to check before I enrolled

Simona Guest

Rick....I have a feeling that this requirement has been removed?

CMs can access their pre-registration training wherever they choose and that includes First Aid...for Safeguarding it is best to access the LA own training and follow the LSCB's own directives on how to deal with issues and who to contact

It may be better to check on this just in case there have been changes.
    The OP mentions a Degree...maybe I have not understood well?

Registered Childminder since
    Oct 12
    Latest Inspection Grade
    GOOD! Hurrah
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Simona View Post
    Rick....I have a feeling that this requirement has been removed?

CMs can access their pre-registration training wherever they choose and that includes First Aid...for Safeguarding it is best to access the LA own training and follow the LSCB's own directives on how to deal with issues and who to contact

It may be better to check on this just in case there have been changes.