Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  6
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    Jan 13
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Default level 3 diploma or foundation degree?

Hi there

I've been childminding for almost a year now and am loving it.
    I was a secondary school teacher for 4 years before this.
    I am looking into training I can do to further my knowledge and for my CPD but am unsure which path to take. I've looked at the Level 3 diploma for children and young people workforce and the Foundation degree in early years - which one is best for me to do? I have all my GCSE's and A levels as well as a BA degree with QTS. However at the moment I only have mindees aged 5+, will this be a problem in terms of course requirements for working with early years? I have a 2 year old son and am pregnant with my 2nd (due in 3 weeks!) but I didn't think your own children would count.
    Any advice would be much appreciated, thanks!!

Laura

Mar 90
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

In my opinion, With your background I think it may be better for you to consider a foundation degree in early years. The age range it covers is usually 0-8. I started with OU and did a level 4 and eventually achieved BA (Hons) in early years.

3. Likes hectors house liked this post
    Jan 13
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Thank you.
    I looked at the OU, how did you find it? I would prefer to do most of it from home which is what OU sounds like.
    Did you get plenty of support from them?

Laura

Nov 04
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

i'd go for the FD however, the only thing I'd say is that you might not get on the FD for early years without the level 3 in early years (even with your QTS - as I presume yours is for children 11+). I think it will depend on what college you apply to.

Good luck!