Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    pre-reg
    Non childminder member
    parent
    Post Thanks / Like

Default ou or local college to do a foundation degree

hiya everyone

I have been looking at the ou courses for early years and childhood studies as I have just finished a course with the ou sk124 recently just waiting for the results.

But I have also seen that I can do a foundation degree in childhood studies at a local colege and I wondering has anyone done this course, and how did you find it

pre-reg
    Non childminder member
    parent
    Post Thanks / Like

I am still not sure which one to go for I think I will ring the open uni see what they say I just done wont to make a mistake and start the wrong degree

Oct 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

I am currently studying for the foundation degree with the OU and find this suits me with childminding and a young family as I can fit the work around me and the children rather than having to go out to college on fixed days etc The only thing with doing it this way is that you need to be pretty disciplined with yourself about 'keeping up' with the reading otherwise the assignments can be a bit of a nightmare!

Post Thanks / Like

I'm also doing my degree with the OU as it fits in with work and family. It is quite intense and think it takes longer than through a local college, but I feel like I am learning and improving. My network coordinator started her foundation degree with the OU and then switch to a local college. She said she learnt far more with the OU course and that the college one was a bit wishy washy, but obviously this will vary between colleges.
    The other thing about the OU is that if you go on to the degree you have to get higher grades to achieve a pass 1/2 etc than you need at a brick uni. But then apparently OU degrees are highly regarded as employers recognise that it takes huge motivation and determination to keep studying on your own.