Setting up a play group
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    May 10
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Setting up a play group

Evening everybody - I’m new to this so please be kind ☺️.

I have been asked to set up a stay and play group. Has anyone got any information on what I need to do in order to go ahead with this. For example insurance ect.

Also any ideas of what you would like from a stay and play group. The venue is linked to a school so I feel very under pressure to get it right and make it a success. Any information/ideas and advice welcome

TIA x

Nov 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

If it is linked to a school then I'd be asking them about their insurance and how it will cover your venture.
    I go to one, what I like is low cost, a good hot cup of tea and a choccie biscuit, space and plenty of resources for the children, a craft/messy play every week, healthy snack and water provided for all the children. Ideally I like it when there are child-free volunteers to help hands-on with crafts etc (church toddle groups are good at this where often elderly volunteers come to help).
    Good luck!

3. Likes loocyloo liked this post
    oct 02
    Latest Inspection Grade
    outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

I've never set up a stay and play session, but have been involved in running toddler groups.

We had insurance from preschool learning alliance. We asked every adult attendee to fill out a form with contact details, child's name, dob etc. This also informed the adult that they were responsible for their own child.

We provided a snack of water, fruit and toast. With all children sitting down together to share.

I run a childminders group at the local children's centre and we all bring something to share for snacktime. We just sign in and out on the childrens centre register as we are all registered with the childrens centre.