Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Outcast

Registered Childminder since
    Aug 09
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Unhappy Outcast

I have been childminding for about 18 months now, I have been very lucky to get busy from day one of getting my registration and my business is doing really well at the minute. The only down side is other childminders in my community. I have children that have come to me from other childminders (because the parent was unhappy where they were) but I have been accused of stealing business, undercutting other childminders, all of which is not true as I charge the same as everyone else.

This all started from the day I started minding, and has left me feeling like an outcast with the whole childminding community. Even though the childminder knows I havent done these things, others still believe I have as no course has been made to clear my name. Most recently I gave a newly registered childminder her first mindees as my friend needed 2 full time places but I had no spaces so gave it to this new cm. My friend knows I have recently had a place come available and as she hasnt been 100% happy with the service from the new cm she wanted them to come to me. Needless to say, I have yet again been accused of stealing business and I have been quite upset about it. What am I to do if parents want their kids to come to me? Am I supposed to turn business away? I spoke to the new cm and told her my friend had approached me, but she has still chosen to fall out with me and accuse me of stealing her business!

I know Ofsted want childminders to group together, but I just want to keep myself to myself now after all this because I just dont need this stress. Im running a business at the end of the day and cant be doing with these playground tactics.