Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Pre Visit

Registered Childminder since
    aug 09
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Pre Visit

Hi All, I'm new to threading, so hope this works!

I have my pre reg visit next Tues. Am starting to feel really nervous about it all, has anyone got tips about what they will ask me, what I need to show them??

I did my course well over a year ago so am slightly out of touch about what we covered. Arrrgghhhh!!!

Also, how do I get the lovely fireman to come over and look at my......house for fire safety?

Sept 10
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Pre Visit

Hi there!

Don't panic about your pre-reg visit, they are there to advice you (my lady was lovely!). They will ask you about the EYFS welfare requirements and how you are going to make these happen (ie safeguarding, suitable person, suitable premises & equipment, standards and documentation).

I would also have the house as ready as possible for childminding... if not, perhaps make a 'wish-list' for things you still need to get, so they see you are planning ahead and aware of what you need to get still..

You should read the EYFS pack once more to revise
    And you'll be totally fine!

.. oh and the lovely firemen (I had 3 visiting yayyyyyyy!), I just called my local firebrigade and they arranged a visit within a week or so.

Good luck xx
    Saija
    Happy days

AUG 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    GOOD
    Post Thanks / Like

my lady was also lovely...have you got abooklet that has lots of questions in from Ofsted?

they will ask you questions from this...its easier to go through and asnwer the questions then refer back to it when they are there...they let you do that

they will want to see what policies you have...not neccisarily (sp) read them but see what you already have in place....ask lots of questions that way you know from them