Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Non childminder member
    Training childminder
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Can't decide if I should start childminding

Hi everyone,
    I am in the process of becoming a childminder. I have done my Pacey HBCA and really enjoyed it. I am a qualified science teacher and know I would love the planning and observation side of the job, just not sure if I should childmind. Childminding was attractive to me as I have a small baby and dont want to put him in childcare. I only have experience working with older children and worry that I would miss adult interaction throughout the day. Why do you enjoy childminding and do you get enough time with adults?
    Would really appreciate your thoughts!

Registered Childminder since
    Nov 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

As far as adult-company goes, I feel you get out as much as you put in. If you make the effort to get to groups, even start groups if they don't exist, go on training courses (great networking), get involved in any local authority early years networking/meetings, get involved in Pacey Local for example, make the effort to meet other CMers and invite them over for playdates, get talking to parents in the playground/nursery lobby etc then you can buiold up a network of new friends and colleagues. It is possible to not talk to another adult for days but then it is the same as a mum at home with a baby- you need to make it happen.

3. Likes Maza liked this post
    pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

I was in science and gave it up for childminding when my son was a baby.