Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  19
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    Mar 15
    Post Thanks / Like

Default One day per week mindees

Hi all
    I'm not yet registered but I am taking enquiries. A lady has approached me who needs one day per week (Friday's)care for her daughter who's 3 and 2 after school pick ups per week for her 6 year old son. I've heard of a few childminders say that they would not take on a one day a weeker. Would just like some opinions on this? Obviously I'm new to all of this and would not want to turn away work x

Sept 09
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

I have done 1 day per week and I found the children hard to settle but a 3 year old might be more suited to it as they can understand more so I would consider meeting with the parents and child and depending on how I feel the child might settle I might consider it for this age group.

xx

oct 02
    Latest Inspection Grade
    outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

I have a lot of 'one day a weekers' !!! its sometimes hard to settle a LO just one day, but it also means that mum and LO can pop over for a coffee/I can visit them on the other days, and that usually helps if there is an issue.

I like it ... every day is different, and whilst I miss having the same children for a few days and following/extending play ideas over those days, I can repeat activities a couple of times in the week! this week, I've been to play in the woods 2 days; doing the same planned activities but with different children.

I often find that my 'one day a weekers' become 2 days, or more, or I do extra days as and when needed. also ... sometimes, but getting that first mindee through the door, you can get out and about as a 'real' childminder and people see you working and its good advertising!

plus, when they leave, its not a huge chunk of income gone! ( although filling odd days isn't always easy! )