Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: query - driving

Registered Childminder since
    jun 09
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Default query - driving

Hi all, big apologises for not posting for a while, been hibernating for the winter

Quick question, a childminder has just passed her driving test, is she allowed to drive children around for a fee, whilst in her probationary period?

And any ideas how/who would insure her

Thanks
    Claire x

Jul 11
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

I passed my driving test last year and I was able to take mindees in the car straight away. I got my insurance through insurethebox.com. I had quotes from lots of companies and they all came in at over £3000 because I was a new driver!!! Insure the box quoted about £1500 so I went with that. They didn't charge any extra for business use. I just got my renewal a few weeks ago and it has gone down to around £400 for this year. I can't believe what a difference one years no claims discount has made.

Sept 90
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

just asked hubby who is a driving instructor and he says there was talk about new drivers not being able to carry passengers for a certain period of time but it
    hasn't come into force, you could check on the dsa website and ask the question on there to be on the safe side. I have business insurance and
    can use our car for carrying mindees.

When you say drive children round for a fee do you mean charge extra for doing it or as being paid to look after children?
    Cath

jun 09
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by cathtee View Post
    just asked hubby who is a driving instructor and he says there was talk about new drivers not being able to carry passengers for a certain period of time but it