Where do I start? Plz help
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Non childminder member
    Parent
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Where do I start? Plz help

Hi, my names alisa and I stay near Falkirk, Scotland. I am looking to get into childminding as I have a three year old son and I'm finding it hard regarding childcare. I have no qualifications in this field other than first aid, I would appreciate any help and advice on this matter, ie; courses or training. Thanks

Registered Childminder since
    Apr 10
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Where do I start? Plz help

Hi, I'm just starting out too, about to be registered in the next week or so. To start with I contacted my local care commission and asked for the application form. I know in some areas they want you to do the scma course before they give you the form but they don;t run one here. have a look at the scma website aswell, www.childminding.org

hth

May-09
    Post Thanks / Like

you dont need any other formal qualification.

the scma induction training is not mandatory yet but a good starting point. If the courses are not run in your area then you can ask to get the paperwork sent to your home and do it like a distance learning course.
    you can always also phone their helpline for information

local cc is a good idea too they will send you an appliction pack and some info.

you will need a 2 day paediatric first aid course as part of registration and CC want you to do a course in child protection which might be organised by scma in your area as well but they will let you know. if you register after april I believe you might have to reg as food business if you are going to serve food but I have been told that is easy
    You have to have mains powered smoke alarms fitted in your house too

any other qualification or courses you can do if you want but dont have to and you dont need them to register!