Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: HELP

Registered Childminder since
    july 09
    Post Thanks / Like

Post HELP

Anyone got any good advice on ways to stop me biting my nails!!!
    I know it's a discusting habit! Tried Stop and Grow and Bitter Nail stuff but nothing works!!!!!!!
    Just haven't got will power and it's more like habbit I do it and i'm not aware of it!!
    Any advice from any former nail biters would be great!!
    katieskatie xx

amirose Guest

Default Re: HELP

I am actually a Nail Technician so hopefully can give you some good advice!

Firstly keep your nails really short, do not be tempted to try and grow them just yet, your nails will be really weak so its better to keep them short and strong.

Keep a nail file in your bag at all times! Most nail biters will start biting because they have a hang nail or something bothering them so always keep a nail file handy so you can file any sharp bits!

Buff your nails at least twice a week, this stimulates blood flow to your nails which in turn stimulates growth, it also will smooth out any flaking you may have at the top of your nails which in turn stops you picking.

File your nail once daily, I do not mean shape them, just give them a quick file with a smooth nail file (one without much grit) this will seal the ends of your nails and help protect them

Invest in a quality nail oil, I highly recommend OPI avoplex nail oil. Apply this over the entire nail surface once or twice a day then massage it in to each nail with your thumb. This will nourish your nails and help them grow - It also smells lush and tastes gross!

Another tip is to take a bowl and fill it with any oil, olive oil from the kitchen even, put it in the microwave for a minute or so, so its just warmed up, then soak the tips of your fingers in it for 5 minutes, once again this nourishes the cuticles and surrounding skin and will help with growth