Thread: NCMA or MM?

Registered Childminder since
    Feb 12
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Default NCMA or MM?

Hi,

I was registered in February of this year and the LA funded a toolkit for either MM or NCMA including insurance. I went with NCMA as I liked the look of their paperwork. I was sent the toolkit and insurance in January and have just noted the date as 22 December for renewal. I immediately called them and said I wasnt registered till Feb and could they defer the renewal till then as I wasnt minding when they sent the toolkit. It was like asking for the earth. I didnt like their manner and has now left me thinking what to do.

I am still new to childminding and feel i need support in paperwork/contracts/policies. Who is the better one of the two? I go to local NCMA run childminder drop ins and would be sad not to able to attend anymore if they were only for NCMA.

Thanks

Nov 11
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

Declaration of interest: I'm with NCMA and I'm both a loyal supporter of what they do and critic of some of the things they don't do so well. (It is possible to be both.)

TBH, threads like this usually follow a pattern of each "side's" respective members saying how brilliant their "side" is and how rubbish the other is. You'll then get someone chipping in to tell you to look out for the forthcoming inception of UKCMA. But I wouldn't expect too much constructive or impartial advice.