Likes Likes:  11
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    June 09
    Latest Inspection Grade
    OUTSTANDING
    Post Thanks / Like

Talking My recent Ofsted Inspection

Hi Everyone, I've had a few members ask me about my recent Ofsted Inspection so I will tell you about it here:

I had a phone call from the Inspector on Wednesday 7th February. She informed me she was travelling from Newcastle! A very long drive!!!!!
    She asked me which days I was working the following week and which day suited me best. I told her Tuesday and she said as she had to travel so far that's the day she would be coming.
    She asked me to prepare an activity which she could observe and she wanted to see the following:
    *First aid certificate
    *Safeguarding policy
    *CRB checks
    *Print out of my SEF
    *Any other relevant documentation I wanted to show her.

I have been preparing for this day for the past 4 years I was so ready for her
    On Tuesday morning, I had everything laid out on the kitchen table, policies and procedures, certificates, documents, admission forms, fire drills, parent and child questionnaires and thank you cards I had saved over the years.

She arrived at 9:45am, I checked her ID and welcomed her in, she told me she had left her mobile phone in her car and should she need to make a call she would return to her car to do so.
    She then said what a lovely drive down she had had despite setting off at 6:30am!!!! and she found the area I lived in lovely (This made me feel so much better as I had heard horror stories of if your inspector has a bad start to the day you can forget a good grade)
    I offered her a drink after her long journey and she asked for a glass of water.
    She got out her laptop and told me she would watch me as I got on with my day and ask questions where she needed to.