Can you use a school DBS
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  4
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Can you use a school DBS

Hi I have a DBS as I work in a school and it's registered to the update service .before i apoed I was told by ofsted I can use it and now they are saying I can't?has anyone else had this problem,thanks

2. Likes mum67 liked this post
    Mar 14
    Post Thanks / Like

Sorry but no you have to have a new one done. I had 4 for a school and in recent years and couldn't use any of them. I think you should only ever have to do one and if any serious incidents or events which affect it occur they should be automatically updated by the relevant authorities who deal with such things and added to our DBS by them.

It's all a money making scam, they don't need a DBS for every job we apply for. Why do I need 4 separate checks for positions within the same school? They know me they know everything about my life apart from my toilet times (I'm serious, there is no privacy in a school, staff are so nosey about the smallest of things. It's one big gossip community)

Simona Guest

You can do a DBS now and if you pay a little extra it is 'transferable' so you can work in any setting...that was the way I understood it....this thread has reminded me that there have been changes to the DBS very recently and I have not looked at it...as anyone else?

5. Likes EmmaReed84 liked this post
    June 11
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Simona View Post
    You can do a DBS now and if you pay a little extra it is 'transferable' so you can work in any setting...that was the way I understood it....this thread has reminded me that there have been changes to the DBS very recently and I have not looked at it...as anyone else?