New to this - monthly topic web ok for baby?
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    Apr 11
    Post Thanks / Like

Default New to this - monthly topic web ok for baby?

Hi I am new to childminding and have recently started looking after a 8 month old baby as well as having my own 13 month old. I am trying to establish a system that works well for me in respect to the planning/obs. I am thinking along the lines of a topic web based on previous obs of the baby. I know my theme needs to be based on the baby's interests shown. However I am abit confused how in depth I need to go and how regularly I need to do this given how young he is. I have done a basic year plan showing seasons, birthdays, special events etc to bear in mind. Very vague though. I thought I would do a monthly plan - and so a new theme each month based on the previous 4 weeks obs but is this too long should I chose a new theme each week ?

I see some childminders are doing weekly and daily plans is this something I need to do? For obs, I am going to do post its throughout the week and next steps and then more in-depth ones every so often.

Is this a good plan? Please help!!! My head might explode soon!!

04 07
    Latest Inspection Grade
    GOOD
    Post Thanks / Like

Personally I find specific themes dont work to great for the under 2's - its fine if you have some older ones for the babies to join in in their own way but at 8 months old its more about observing their development and providing toys and experience to enhance that, e.g enjoys banging 2 bricks together - provide other items to bang (pan & spoon, drum etc).
    Enhance CLL with singing and story sessions and get out and about in the community for KUW and PSED.
    [I]Sharon
    *****proofed the house but they're still getting in!!

Apr 11
    Post Thanks / Like