Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  2
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: everything

Registered Childminder since
    Pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Smile everything

I have been childminding for 6 months now and have one 14 month old, hopefully I am just over thinking things but I don't have a clue.
    I am sure I am doing too much or not enough, I am really struggling with the EYFS side of things, what I should be observing, how to plan, what goes where and is covered by which part!

At the moment I am using paperwork:

Scrap book to put photos I take, not necessarily ones that have any link just great photos

Observation journal which I downloaded, in it it had subsections for look and note observations, photographic observation sheet and then monthly sections that include: planned observed, areas of learning ons, next steps and my work sheet.
    I am using a tracker sheet to show at 3 monthly marks where she is and plan to do a summary every term which will include the parents.

It all seems a bit much, is there anyway to simplify it all, I find myself struggling to put anything in all the sections.

I also have a daily diary that goes home with parents but this doesn't hold vital stuff as it has been lost twice already.

Planning -I don't even know where to start!
    Please any advice welcome, like I say I am probably just over thinking it all and it's all so much easier then I think

July07
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Everyone has their own way of doing things. As long as you can show that you are tracking development and have a good knowledge of where the child is then that's good. Mine are brief as I was doing too much at one point and I had to cut them down.

I have the following
    Learning Journeys - Each page has a date and age of child (June 15 - 37m) then pictures of the child doing something such as playing with a farm set... A brief note next to the picture of what area it covers CLL, EAD etc