Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  6
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Starting up!

Non childminder member
    Potential childminde
    Post Thanks / Like

Talking Starting up!

Hello! I'm new to the forum and really after some advice before I take the plunge!

I'm currently a teacher who is due to go back this month from maternity leave and I'm really struggling with the idea of leaving my little one. I've often thought about childminding and now think it maybe a good time to get the ball rolling!

I wondered whether ex teachers would mind sharing their experiences? Do you enjoy CM? Any regrets? Do you manage to fill term time only places? There seems to be a shortage of local childminders in my area (Hampshire) so hoping that I could go term time only but if not, how much holiday do you take a year and do you charge 1/2 fees to your parents?

Sorry, so many questions but I'd really love the advice and input of you more knowledgeable lot!

Thanks!

Registered Childminder since
    Nov 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

I know a few term-time only CMers, certainly possible. It is a slightly niche market of course, but a market non the less, which term-time only workers appreciate as they do not having to pay to reserve their space over the hols.

Nov 13
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

I have retired now, but did originally retire from teaching and then did term time childminding for a few years.
    The problem with term time childminding as opposed to teaching is that you are not paid for the holiday time, if you can manage that financially then it may be a good change of career.