giving notice for another contract.
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  22
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Hi all I am after some reassurance I suppose.
    I am still very new to childninding and am building up my mindees.
    I have one child on a Tuesday but have only had her for 2 weeks (still within settling in) I have just now had an enquiry for 3 days including the Tuesday.
    Really it's a no brainer to take on the 3 dayer and lose the one than to lose the opportunity for all the extra income.
    I feel really bad even thinking it tho.
    Is this something we all need to do from time to time ?.I suppose I need my business head on not my friendly head on.
    At the end of the day I'm supposed to be making money am I not??
    Last edited by ja-lula-belli; 27-02-2014 at 09:18 AM.

Registered Childminder since
    Dec 87
    Post Thanks / Like

I'm afraid I think it is really unprofessional to give notice for this reason but I suppose it depends on how much you need the income. What reason would you give to the parent unless it is because you really need the extra money which may soften the blow a bit. You will get more enquiries and be able to fill your spaces without letting anyone down. Probably some people will say you don't have to give a reason but I would find that very hard to do and the parent would be left wondering why it didn't work out. I try not to give notice unless the placement has really broken down even if I'm put out for a while but everyone's circumstances are different so only you will know what you are comfortable with.

Sept 09
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like