Can I charge a retainer fee for a place I don't yet have available?
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    Nov 11
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Can I charge a retainer fee for a place I don't yet have available?

I'm just starting out and I have 2 children of my own- both under 5 and one is currently 10 months old. I have a prospective parent coming to see me about a place from the beginning of Feb for her 11 month old when my 10 month old will be 12 months old, therefore freeing up my one under 1 place. Can I charge a retainer fee from now to keep the place open even though, technically I don't have an under 1 place to offer until the start of Feb?

Thanks

Apr 09
    Post Thanks / Like

No not really good practise - you can only charge a retainer for a space that is available to prevent other people from having the space. You could charge a deposit though
    triangle sandwiches are better than square ones...

Nov 11
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

Thought as much! So, I could charge a deposit from now to keep open a space? Isn't that just the same though? Finances really aren't my thing!

Apr 09
    Post Thanks / Like

You can charge a deposit which is a one off payment to secure the childs place. You can keep the deposit until the end of the contract less any monies that are due to you if a parent didn't pay all of their final invoice.

So for example I charge a weeks deposit. The deposit stays on account when the child leaves my care I return the deposit back to them - if they had incurred any costs since the last invoice or had failed to pay their last invoice - their deposit would be used for any monies I am owed.

Bit like renting a flat from a landlord you get the full deposit back as long as you paid all the rent and left it in a reasonable condition.