Mum on benefits & Deposits
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    Oct 10
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Mum on benefits & Deposits

Hi there I am a newbie and I have my first sign up of contracts on Sunday with the child starting in January.

This is the story and I just need some assistance.

The mum in question has today given her notice in on the other childminder for various reasons shes not happy with them.

Now the mum is on benefits and at the moment pays the minder weekly but come end of January the mum will be paid by her work (16 hours a week) monthly and therefore to start with will pay me weekly and then monthly ive not a problem with that.

When I said to her I would need a deposit to hold the place and a months minding in advance shes worried about that as she never had to give a deposit to the current minders and never had to give an advance. My concern is that at end of Dec/Jan she could turn around and say shes not going to work no more or anything else and then ive wasted time in holding the space open.

Shes a single mum on benefits who gets her childcare paid for by the government.

Any advice before I get her to sign contracts on Sunday as I say knowing my luck ill come away from there signed up but with no deposit or anything.

Thanks in advance

Caroline xx

May 08
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Mum on benefits & Deposits

If you have the place available now, then you should be charging a retainer fee as she is choosing to not use the place now. This is usually 50% and is non refundable and does not come off future fee's. If however you no longer have the place when she needs it, then it is refundable.

A deposit is only charged if you do not have the place available but it will be when she needs it IYSWIM. This does come of the first invoice.

HTH

Jess