Likes Likes:  2
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    Feb 12
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Nervous to increase my fees

I have been childminding for 5 years this February and not once have I increased my fees ( currently £4ph)
    I am very busy and full but discovered that other childminders in my area are £4.50 some are £5ph
    I know as I am a lot cheaper that will appeal to working parents but with the rise in everything over the last few years include food, I feel 50p increase isn't to bad
    I am just worried I rock the Apple cart so to speak with my parents and they look elsewhere
    Which I really can not afford to lose there business
    How would you go about approaching this
    I understand nobody likes prices going up but in the last few years bills and expenses have and I need to be able to cover them

Dec 87
    Post Thanks / Like

If others are more expensive than you your parents will not have much choice to find a cheaper childminder. I think if you haven't increased in 5 years and have had the children for a while I can't really see anyone leaving.

Nov 11
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

I'm in very much the same position: 5 years CMing; no fees increase in that time; very similar £ph. In addition, I have the majority of families on term-timee-only contracts, so I'm working all year round but only paid 2/3 of the time by 2/3 of families. I also am looking to rise fees next year.

I'm hoping that 2017 is the best year to break it to them. Next year, many families will be able to take advantage of savings from Tax-Free Childcare and the 30 funded hours (so long as it is paid and run in a sustainable manner.) I'll use these as part of my 'pitch' when I explain the fee increase.

Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries