Is charging the correct thing to do?
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  8
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Is charging the correct thing to do?

Hi there,

I am new to minding and I have a 5 year old after school on a Mon, tues, weds untill 6.pm incl dinner. On monday i sent next weeks invoice home with dad no problem. Mum collected mindee last night all ok, then at 9.30pm I got a text to say oh we dont need you to have little one next week on Wednesday after all, hope thats ok let me know and I can then send a cheque with her tomorrow for the balance. Meanibg they would just pay for the 2 days instead of the contracted 3. Why didnt she ask me face to face on collection?

This annoyed me for a few reasons, I cared for her child for 6 after school sesions free of charge back in June (and classed it as play dates) while my children got to know her little one, and i waited for my pacey contracts in the post. I wash her little ones clothes if she changes due to getting wet/dirty. And on Wednesday due to end of term I would have had little one for an additional 1 and 1/2 hours, but I decided to invoice my standard after school fee to avoid complications.

So, I sent a text and said no problem she doesnt have to come but as its contracted hours and not pre arranged holiday I will have to charge you, very sorry!.

Did I do the right thing, or was that to harsh?

Mar 15
    Post Thanks / Like

It can be awkward but this is your business, not just a hobby. Everyone has the right to be paid for their work, and the contracts are there for this reason. I don't think that you were too harsh at all.

3. Likes Kiddleywinks liked this post
    oct 02
    Latest Inspection Grade
    outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

:-) it is up to you, but I would say you did the right thing.