Can Childminders ask for a Retainer and a Payment Depost?
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  5
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    Nov 13
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Can Childminders ask for a Retainer and a Payment Depost?

Hello, I am new to childminding and would be grateful for your help please, as a parent is visiting me on Monday morning and I want to get my facts correct.

Can Childminders ask parents for a Retainer Fee and a Payment Deposit - (equivalent to the agreed notice period, which in my case will be 4 weeks), if being paid monthly in advance? The Payment Deposit will be refunded to the parent at the end of the contract, as long as their are no outstanding fees.

Or do you think it is too much to expect parents to pay both the Retainer and Payment Deposit before childminding takes place?

I've read about some of the horror stories of non payment and just want to protect myself at the start and at the end of the contract?

I hope this makes sense. Thank you

Louise

Dec 11
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good ;-)
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

The way I work is:
    A deposit is required to confirm a contract, and is refundable against the last 4 weeks fees (some do the first weeks fees), unrefundable if parent cancels before starting or within the first 6 months

If I have the space available now, but the start date isn't going to be for a while (more than 4 weeks), then a retainer is also paid. This is half fees and unrefundable unless I cancel the contract before starting.

Finding fees monthly in advance can be difficult for parents, particularly if they are returning to work after a long time, so I will usually suggest paying the fees weekly for the first few/couple of months until they get sorted financially, that way, I still have the deposit (never start without one), and the fees are still being paid in advance, albeit weekly.