Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Settling in fee

Registered Childminder since
    mar06
    Latest Inspection Grade
    good
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Settling in fee

So I have a new mindee starting end of August we have arranged 3 settling in days
    Mum wants full days for all 3 days (1 day 1 week than 2 days nx week than the proper hours)
    Do you charge for settling in days as I'm now thinking I'm working 8-6 which is a days fee

Thing is mum has left a deposit last week but I think she thinks that is for the proper start date but the deposit covers the 3 settling in days so I think she thinks their free ?

I've never done settling in days before parents have just thrown the kids in the door usually lol and I'm also a soft touch

Any advice

June 12
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

I don't charge but then only have them for a few hours never a full day as setting in

July 11
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

I usually offer a few hours for free but I would charge something for three full days. What about telling mum you will do the first x number of hours for free then bill her for the rest?

Sam x

Nov 05
    Post Thanks / Like

Ok, so my view on settling in sessions...
    I don't charge for them and like to build from an hr or so to nearly a full day that they require. Although I do know minders who do.
    I feel that it's important to do sessions to ensure that the child gets used to me and I can also pick up on anything relevant and gives me a good starting point!
    However sometimes they're not possible for quick starters.
    Sarah x
    Sarah, Bumble Beez x x

Apr 01
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

I do 2 or 3 sessions of 2 hours for free when settling in. If the parent wants more than that I would charge.

Full days I would definitely charge for.

6. Likes rickysmiths liked this post
    Aug 94
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like