What is included in your hourly fee?
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Default What is included in your hourly fee?

Morning,

I'm just starting out as a Childminder and have no experience with the buisness side of things!

Childminders in my area seem to charge between £3 and £4 an hour.This includes food,drink,toddler group,soft play etc.

From reading around,some childminders claim that you,make NO profit from this whatsoever?

What does everyone think??

Registered Childminder since
    sept 20
    Post Thanks / Like

I charge £3.65 an hour - I provide snacks such as toast, breadsticks, fruit and biscuits but I do not provide meals - if parents want me to provide meals then I would charge extra but would only provide a 'cold' lunch (sandwiches etc).
    I pay for any toddler groups we go to but if we went to a soft play centre etc I would ask that the parents pay for that.

Nov 11
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

You need to set your own fees, according to what you can afford and justify.

A lot of CMs in my area (and probably in a lot of areas) seem terrified of being 'undercut', so they all set the same low fee, which is to my mind little more than exploitation rates. I assume that lowest-common-denominator rate reflects the service provided by someone who is running a low-cost, low-quality operation, then everyone follows that price. If you let the price be dragged down like this, you inevitably have CMs really struggling to deliver quality and still feel it's worth their while.