Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Registered Childminder since
    Apr,14
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Silly Newbie Question

Hello

this may be a silly question, but I am a newbie so please forgive me.

I have a son, who is 7 months old. Is he still counted in my ratios for a particular day if he is not in my home (i.e being cared for by a relative?)

Thanks for your help

Simona Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Elkie Mawdsley View Post
    Hello

this may be a silly question, but I am a newbie so please forgive me.

I have a son, who is 7 months old. Is he still counted in my ratios for a particular day if he is not in my home (i.e being cared for by a relative?)

Thanks for your help
    Now that is a very good question...I am sure others will interpret differently but this is what I would do
    Contact Ofsted...I know they do not offer advice but worth trying and that is not covered under Cms ratios

our own children are part of the ratio but it your child is not 'physically' taking a space then he is not there but with relatives so that space is vacant...does that mean you can give to a minded child? I have not seen anything that says Yes or No

Our own school aged children count when they are there in the afternoon but not AM...I know cms send their own children to another cm or preschool...so it is the same issue.

What would you do if he was sick and you needed to care for him? or your relatives go away? would that make you go over numbers?
    you need to address that to be sure...see what others think but worth looking into this

very intriguing but so maddening we have to query each time...good luck and let us know if you get a reply from Ofsted

pre-reg
    Post Thanks / Like

I thought our own children counted in our numbers whether they are with us or not, no matter where they are. I mean those at fall into the under 8 age group?

Simona Guest

Quote Originally Posted by TrudiR View Post