Bank Account
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Bank Account

Post Thanks / Like

Default Bank Account

Hi,

Is it best to have a separate bank account for my incomings and outgoings of my business, rather than through my own personal account?

What do most people do/suggest?

thanks

Registered Childminder since
    Aug 94
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Good
    Post Thanks / Like

When I was a sole trader and in a partnership I kept my own personal cheque accounts and put my business through them at no cost.

As a registered company I have to have a company bank account but it does cost.

When researching bank accounts I found that Barlcays were the best - give you 18 months free and then their fee is £6.75 a month with the only additional cost being for cash deposits. There are different rates with different banks so if you go down this route I would advertise checking out a few to get the best deal for how you bank.

Also note that if you are investigated by the HMRC then every account in your family/household will be looked at so keep very good records/statements for all of them, including your childrens savings accounts.
    Debbie

Nov 10
    Latest Inspection Grade
    Outstanding
    Post Thanks / Like

1 have 1 bank account- my CM income goes in and my mortgage and all household/business/personal expenditure goes out. My CM account book is kept up-to-date so it is clear what my income and business expenditure is.

If you have a separate account for your income you would have to keep transferring it over to your other account to pay your bills- much more chance of going overdrawn by mistake.

Why would you keep them separate?
    You might want a separate account to hold client's deposits (if you are holding deposits) so you do not spend them. You might want to be putting money aside for your tax bill, but that might be better in a savings account.

Post Thanks / Like