PDA

View Full Version : New to Childmindering and losing hope :(

megan_2011
21-02-2012, 10:27 AM
Hi all,

I'm new and I'm also new to childmindering,

I'm finding it really hard to find kids I have people calling me up asking questions saying they will call me back to book a visit then they never call back. I have had people e-mailing me asking questions then saying I'm to far. I'm just losing hope now and I feel like I have advertised Everywhere and not getting any reply at all. I don't know where else to advertise or where to advertise on-line.

I'm the childcare.com website and netsmums but i don't really get much work from them.

Any help will be great as i really am losing hope and close to giving up.

Thanks
Megan

Mouse
21-02-2012, 11:20 AM
Hello and welcome to the forum and the world of childminding.

Unfortunately, as you're discovering, it can take new childminders a long time to get established, especially if work is quiet in your area.

I always think a lot of work comes by word of mouth, so you need to search out other childminders and make yourself known to them. Do you have a childminding group, or do you know of any who meet up regularly? If there is a group, get yourself along there and make friends with them all. They're much more likely to pass your name on for work if they have already met you.

Other than that, do you have children of your own? Do you attend toddler groups? Tell anyone & everyone that you are a childminder and you have vacancies.

What about facebook? A lot of childminders set up facebook pages for their business. Be careful that you don't put on pictures of any children you do start looking after, but perhaps put some pictures on of the equipment you've got, places you visit etc? And if you have your own facebook page, post a link to your childminding page on there & asks friends to do the same.