PDA

View Full Version : Howdi

Mainey84
09-07-2011, 06:41 PM
Hey all,

I signed up here a while ago as i've been planning to become a childminder for a long time, but at the time of joining the house i was in wasn't suitable to mind in.

I've now moved (moved counties actually) and have my pre-reg course and my areas ICP equivilent booked in November eeek!

So i thought i'd say hi, my name is Chermaine, i'm 26, married and have a nearly 2 year old. I live in Pontefract, West Yorkshire.

I have a CACHE DCE but after qualifying i couldn't find a job :( So for the past 4 years i have slaved away for Ronald McDonald and now i'm ready for out.

I have made a start on my policies and procedures and just can't wait to get it all started properly.

I do have one question though. I'm a shift manager and had to complete my restaurant food safety course which is either a level2 or 3 qualification and was wondering if this could count rather than doing it all again without Restaurant in the title?

Hope everyone is well xx

breezy
09-07-2011, 07:33 PM
Hi and welcome :)

tulip0803
09-07-2011, 11:35 PM
Hello and welcome:)

Ofsted will be able to tell you if they will accept it. Having said that my last Level 2 Food Safety course taught me to design a hotel kitchen:rolleyes:

Penny1959
10-07-2011, 03:25 AM
Hello and welcome to the forum

Hope all goes well with setting up as a childminder

Food Hygine is not an Ofsted requirement and it is not a Environmental Health one either. It is good practice and helps to demonstrate that you are keeping children safe.

Childminders are required to follow the information in the Safer Foods, Better Business for Childminders pack - and even then you don't have to fill in the check forms and can record the information elsewhere (mine is recorded in my evidence diary)

I had my graded inspection in Oct 10 and got outstanding without one and I had an unannouced visit from environmental health on Tuesday and don't have one and 'passed'