PDA

View Full Version : Anyone continued learning journeys as children move to school settings?

chrissy4116
21-06-2011, 07:20 AM
Hey everyone!

I'm currently a nursery teacher but have taught reception for the last two years. We continued with the learning journeys in reception and they seem to go down very well with parents!

What do you currently include in you learing journeys as I want to compare with how we do ours.

I currently have ages and stages sheets relevant to what the child is working at in the front with evidence in chronoloical order after which include observations, photos, children's work, learning stories etc. We then cross reference evidence to highight statements achieved on ages and stages sheets.

Is this similar to how you achieve your assessments?

BuggsieMoo
21-06-2011, 09:08 AM
Hi, I plan to for the ones who start school this year and tie it in with what the school is planning with them (if they ever respond :mad: ). I will gradually reduce what I do with them as they get older but for at least another year (until after their 5th birthdays) I will continue.

For my older ones, we do photo albums and scrap books and my older older ones get to fill things in themselves such as RA's, plans, diaries etc.

Hope that helps

Lisa x

rickysmiths
21-06-2011, 09:08 AM
It seems similar to they way I do my LJs. We actually have to carry on until the 31st August after the child is 5yrs.

So definately over the Reception year. Even if the child is 5yr in September.

I do think it is a nonsence that childminders have to carry on over the summer holidays following the term the school have completed their profile though. I am hoping this may be one of the things addressed in the current EYFS review. Also that we can tone down our LJ once the child is in full time school.