PDA

View Full Version : FOOD EXPENSES - NEW TO THIS - PLEASE HELP!

mummyme
10-03-2011, 09:03 PM
Hi all,

I don't charge parents anything for food and only have to provide 1 child for lunch and the rest with just snacks but have kept receipts for all food and drink I have provided. Can I just highlight the food items on the receipts that are for mindees and list each receipt on the expenses form under food and drink?

Sorry if i am being thick! :blush:

Annelize
10-03-2011, 09:13 PM
I'm new to all of this too and actually have the same question. I don't have any children yet, but as I have a little one of my own, I am happy to provide meals and snack as I'm doing it for my little one.
How do everyone else deal with this bit when it comes to book keeping. Do you just take a percentage of your food shopping, do you try to buy it as separate as possible? Buying it separate and storing it separate will make it really difficult for me as I do not have allot of room, so wont be able to store it separate from the rest of the food that I buy.
Any advise would be appreciated.
Thanks
Bubble and Squeak Childminding

mummyme
10-03-2011, 09:43 PM
Im glad its not just me! :)

julie w
10-03-2011, 09:58 PM
I went to a meeting when I first started minding. Things most probably have changed since then but I was told to work out an average price for a meal and snack and use the same amount every day. eg for my before and after school children I charge £2.50 a day (I mean this is what I put in my expenses, I dont actually ask parents for it) that is £1.25 for breakfast and £1.25 for after school snacks. For full time children I put an amount of £4.25 a day in my accounts book. I was told this was fine as it seems to average out ok and it save breaking every item of food down per child. I hope this makes sense.

MrAnchovy
10-03-2011, 10:09 PM
Either of those two methods (average cost per meal x number of meals or proportion of receipts) is fine, whatever you find easiest to do.