PDA

View Full Version : how many???? Wales!

jemma2811
21-02-2011, 02:12 PM
hey im new to this so i dont even think im posting this in the right place.

i'm going through the process of registering but im a little confused!!!!
my pre reg inspector told me i can have my little boy (7m) and 1 over 18 months up to 5 years, then 4 over 5 years. She did stumble telling me what ages i could have!!!!
however, i thought i could have 3 children under 5 (including my son) and 3 children over 5!!!!
I hope this makes sense!!!! and someone can tell me how many children and the ages I can have.
im in carmarthenshire, south wales. xx

mrsbonnet
21-02-2011, 03:27 PM
As I understand it is 6 under 8, 3 of which can be in the EYFS which covers children up to the 31st August after their 5th birthday, of which 1 can be under 1 year.

In my case I have a 4yo and a 2yo so at the mo could have 1 preschooler in the eyfs and 3 after schoolers, or 4 after schoolers only.

Children in full time education even if under 5 do not count as in the eyfs for childminding purposes.

Confused? you will be!!

tulip0803
21-02-2011, 04:21 PM
jemma is in Wales so it is different to England and we don;t work under EYFS!

Hi Jemma

I am also in Carmarthenshire. Normal numbers are 6 children under 8 years, of which no more than 3 should be under 5 (unless in full-time education), and no more than 2 under 18 months. Your son will take one of your places so the maximum you can be registered for is 5 under 8, no more than 2 under 5 and no more than one under 18 months.

Do ring CSSIW just to confirm though.

manjay
21-02-2011, 04:58 PM
Does sound a bit strange the numbers your inspector gave you:rolleyes:

As Tulip says normal numbers would be another 5 children (+ your own which makes a total of 6). I don't know if she has put restrictions on you because of the age of your own child but I haven't heard of that before.

Definitely check it out with them

amanda x

Polly2
21-02-2011, 07:44 PM