PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning!

Cazz
20-04-2008, 10:32 PM
I am just starting out and trying to find out as much info as possible. Something I just thought of when I was mopping my kitchen floor is when do you all clean your houses? Are you allowed to do any type of house work while you are minding - ie if children are having free play time? I know you can't go off upstairs and change the beds etc but can you do some cleaning downstairs if you are within earshot/sight of the mindees?

I will need to keep on top of everything daily or my house will be a pigsty within a week (untidy hubby & 10 year old twins!) and then I will not be a happy bunny :( . I also have a 4 month old baby so by the time all three are in bed most of the evening has gone - am I going to have to spend that time tidying & cleaning? Obviously it is essential to have a clean and tidy house when you childmind so how do all you fantastic ladies do it?

angeldelight
20-04-2008, 10:34 PM
I do it when I can - around the children - or before they arrive or when they have gone

I do it when they are playing or sitting reading or something - sometimes they even help me

They are very good anyway and put things away and even help tidy up after lunch or dinner

You will soon get into a routine yourself on what works best for you

Angel xx

Noodles
20-04-2008, 10:37 PM
I do some of my cleaning whilst children are here and they love to help e.g washing in and out of machine, toy hoovers out if i need to hoover up mess they make, they really enjoy it :)

miffy
21-04-2008, 05:54 AM
I tend to only do what I need to when the mindees are here to keep on top of things like hoovering up any mess they make, washing pots etc. I do peg washing out and they can help with that passing the pegs etc

I don't think there's any harm in letting them help you with things like dusting as children love to copy what you're doing and be involved

I wouldn't worry too much you'll soon get into a routine

miffy xx

Rubybubbles