PDA

View Full Version : Starting out...best toys to buy?

mrsp14
31-01-2011, 03:41 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm just starting out.... have courses booked but thats it so far. Anyway, i'm trying to spread costs out so am trying to buy little bits and bobs now. Cananyone suggest the best types of toys to have? My little girl is only months so at the mo we only have a few rattles and bears!!! I've ordered some duplo sets off ebay as I remember loving that at my childminders when i was a kid. I'm also going to get various story books in. BUt obviously will need more toys!!

TIA

swindonminder
31-01-2011, 05:23 PM
Hi there

How about a childs kitchen, I got mine free off a site on facebook. Most of the toys I have brought are secondhand.
Have you thought about what multi-cultural toys you will be wanting to buy. I have some Dora the Explora toys, puzzles, Dora laptop, Dora Easel. I also want to get a black boy doll. I have barbies and ken dolls some are oriental looking so I guess that would be classed as multicultural.
I have loads of craft bits that I get from my local scrap store, I paid a membership for a year and I can go in and get as much as I like throughout the year, maybe there is something like that around your area.
When I first started out I was unsure what to buy so I have tried to accomdate all age ranges.
You dont need to buy everything at once you can just add bits as you go along.

:)

jumpinjen
31-01-2011, 05:40 PM
Boot sales in the summer would be good, as well as NCT sales. Go for a good mix and build up as you go:
dolls, blankets, clothes, pushchair.
toy garage and cars
farm and animals
puppets of animals and people.
jigsaws and pegboard puzzles, starting from 2 piece and getting harder.
games.... orchard toys ones are good.
dressing up for boys and girls
play kitchen/food/pots and pans
craft materials... paint/glue/paper/scissors/playdough cutters
small table and chairs
both happyland and little people have multicultural figures in