PDA

View Full Version : Contraceptive Implant

Minstrel
17-11-2010, 11:53 AM
I'm going to have this put in this afternoon. Has anyone any experience of the procedure?

No horror stories please as I am nervous enough already.

I have been told I'll have a local anaesthetic and to ideally take someone with me as it can make some people feel light headed. Since I can't take anyone I have agreed with the doctor I will stay in the surgery for 45 mins after. I will have DD with me so don't want to go fainting! Has it made any of you feel faint? Have also got to walk and push the pram home because I'm not to drive for 6-8 hours after.

Please tell me it doesn't hurt!

SamWilliams1980
17-11-2010, 12:04 PM
I had Implanon in August time after being on the depo for a few years and begining to have probs.

It was the practice nurse who did my procedure. I didnt have to stay for 45 mins, but being an ex practice nurse myself I do understand that different GP surgeries have different policies on such procedures.

So what happened,

I lay on a couch with the back up so i was totally flat and lay my arm turned slightly (they inserted it almost to my inner arm). It was a comfortable position. I had a l;ocal anaesthetic. Which I will be honest I clenched my teeth and tensed up as I hate injections, a slight sting later (honestly thats all) she was testing the area to make sure it was sufficiently numb, then got the implant.

It is inserted by injection too. Please dont be put off byt the size of the needle when you see it. I am not gonna lie cause you will see for your self its pretty damn big (and wide) and I thought OMG that is gonna hurt like hell arrrghh! I promise you on my kiddies life it did not hurt a bit when she injected it. I felt the pushing sensation but that is it!!!!