PDA

View Full Version : New childminder, how much to charge

ChristinaL
27-07-2010, 10:32 PM
Hey I live in Crawley and am in the process of becoming a registered childminder and I have a mum coming to meet me on Friday. If things work out she would want me to mind her 2yr and her 3yr. Hours required would be 7am - 6:30pm. The 3yr would be going to playgroup/nursery part time. Have worked out this would be 57.5 hrs per week for the 2yr old and 36.5 hrs per week for the 3yr old.

In those totals I havn't included the 21 hours the 3yr old is at playgroup/nursery should I be including and charging something for those hours???

Also how much should I be charging per hour, ie should I charge different rates per child, should I charge more for the unsociable hours, and lastly should I give a sibling discount???

Doing some vague maths it sounds like this woman will be parting with a lot of money so really want to check I am not being greedy as I am completely new to this. Thanks in advance.

mama2three
28-07-2010, 06:22 AM
Youll find that the majority of minders charge whilst a child id at playgroup / nursery etc , especially if youre dropping off and picking up!

As for charges you really need to be finding out what is the 'normal' charge for your area , through other cms , look on fis or direct.gov.uk or ask your do.

sibling discount is down to you , some do , others dont....many see it as 2 full places and no less work than 2 unrelated children ( often more!) so no discount. Again its worth finding out what others local to you would do as the parents often see several minders before making a decision.

For these hours I would probably offer a day rate , plus a little extra for the unsociable hours each end..what are your ' normal' hours going to be?

These are incredibly long days , you will be incredibly tired so make sure you are charging enough not to resent it in the future once the newness and excitement wears off!

Good Luck x x

Stillgoingstrong