PDA

View Full Version : starting child minding and worried about floors???

karen-ing
28-06-2010, 03:01 PM
hi all, i'm karen and i am new to all of this i have 5 children of my own already and wish to stay at home and not go back to my job as i find it really sresfull/hard to get my own children looked after..... so i have decided to become a childminder but i have heard that ofstead can make you change things in your home and i am worried about my floors?? i have tiled flooring in he kitchen and hall and wood flooring in the lounge? i have one room downstairs which has carpet tho was just wandering if there will be any problems with this?? thanks in advance :D xx

Emz
28-06-2010, 05:32 PM
welcome to the forum.

I only have carpet on my stairs and landing and this posed no problem with ofsted. Its easier to clean also.

I guess as long as you get around to risk assessing it then it will be fine.

Good luck hun x

WibbleWobble
28-06-2010, 05:45 PM
i am same as Emz

i have a hard floor RA and policy....kids wear non slipon slippers or slipper socks. No running and no polish to be used on the floor. etc

mrs o commented on how lovely my original tiled hall and wooden floors were when she came for my pre reg visit

mandy xxx

karen m
28-06-2010, 06:19 PM
I have wooden floors in hall,lounge and tiles in kitchen has never been mention by ofsted

Mookins
28-06-2010, 06:35 PM
wish we had wooden flooring again..i stupidly chose cream coloured carpets when we moved here:(
what an idiot

xx x x

karen-ing
28-06-2010, 06:43 PM
phew!! lol aww thanks everyone for answering me :D panick over now then i was starting to worry about it :/ very true about it been easier to keep clean :D i have a carpet in one room witch i will probs use a s the play room? xx

AndreeaM
28-06-2010, 06:53 PM
I have tiles in the kitchen and the rest is wooden floors; ofsted came for inspection last month and didn't mention anything!!! So not to worry!

Playmate
28-06-2010, 07:14 PM