PDA

View Full Version : New here, not a registered CM yet

PinkFairy24
23-06-2010, 09:21 PM
Hi all!

I did start posting here months ago saying that I want to be a childminder. Since then I have been so busy, I got married, moved house and had a daughter Lucy :blush: She is now four months and I am seriously starting to come back and look at all my childminding paperwork as I want to start early next year!

I am just so lost though. I am a nurse (adult) and decided to do the diploma in home based childcare level one with the NEC as I was working full time. I passed this and did a paediatric first aid course. This was all ok I thought.

Now though I am looking through all the EYFS and am completely lost and feel like giving up already :( I don't think that the diploma was any use at all? I didn't do ANY of the planning etc or linking that is needed. I have no idea how to document anything or do observations? Wasn't I supposed to do this when I did the diploma? I did have a question describing a list of children I was going to childmind, but I didn't go into any detail on activities etc and link it to the EYFS? All it asked for was to write up a daily plan fitting in when the children were dropped off, describing meal and nap times and make sure that I put in some free play, or toy play etc. It didn't ask me to cover any of the areas that you get on the EYFS cards? I didn't know anything about this. Did I do this all wrong?? Wasn't my mentor supposed to be teaching me this? All the paperwork I had from NEC had nothing in it involving the EYFS. Looking at it is dated 2006, I am so sure that this isn't good enough :panic: Will I have to do this all again??? Did I do this course too early and I need to update it???

I was trying so hard to be organised, I made sure that I gave myself enough time to get the diploma before I was even pregnant and wanting to childmind. I just don't know what to do :(

I am stressed, stressed, stressed and crying:( :( :( so sorry

moljak