PDA

View Full Version : What exactly do our plans/obs have to link to?

judisteve
20-06-2010, 09:20 PM
I'm new to this (should receive my certificate in the next few weeks- CRBs arrived last week!!)
Been thinking about my planning (my first mindee is due to start in September - age 6 months) I realise that for a 6 month old planning will be limited but want to try and get it all clear before I start.

Quite happy doing spider diagrams with a theme in the middle then activity ideas to cover each of the six areas of learning. This then needs breaking down into weekly/monthly plan according to child's developmental stage and interests - as per the obs? Do you mark on the plan which obs it links to and on the obs which plan it links back to?
Do we then need to be linking our planned activities to the EYFS principles (A unique child, positive relationships, enabling environment and learning a development)? If so, how do we do this? Also, where does the development matters, Look, listen, note, effective practice and planning and resourcing categories fit into our planning and obs?

How much planning should be done for the first week - of are observations more important then to get to know child's ability, likes etc. to then plan from there?

Maybe I'm trying to be too complex and have missed something very obvious?

Any help, advice, suggestions - even links to examples would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance!
Judi

sarah707
20-06-2010, 09:51 PM
I'm new to this (should receive my certificate in the next few weeks- CRBs arrived last week!!)
Been thinking about my planning (my first mindee is due to start in September - age 6 months) I realise that for a 6 month old planning will be limited but want to try and get it all clear before I start.

Well done for getting the first mindee signed up! :thumbsup:

Quite happy doing spider diagrams with a theme in the middle then activity ideas to cover each of the six areas of learning.

Not for 6 month olds!!