PDA

View Full Version : About to register but have doubts

lindelu
30-05-2010, 09:57 AM
Hi there

I am new to this forum and am about to attend my pre-registration meeting. I am currently a bus driver (double decker bus with 80 kids) and have been considering childminding for a while. I've spent alot of time researching what the local CMs charge and various other related things but still need help with the final decision. I live in a village which as far as I know currently has six existing CMs as well as a popular before and after school club - the CMs I have spoken to don't really want to help me, they seem to want to put me off more than anything. I need to match my current income of £200 per week - is this possible or will it take months, even years to get the children to earn this amount. It's not all about money but obviously that's what we are all here to earn and do you think there is room for another childminder if there are 6 already ?

Any help you can give me would be very much appreciated and I apologise for this longwinded message.

Cheers.

Lindelu (Linda)
Married with 2 daughters, 11 chickens and an african grey parrot

Pipsqueak
30-05-2010, 10:14 AM
hi there Linda - welcome to the forum:D

wow - you drive a double decker (this probably sounds sarky but its not) - what fun:cool: mind you a double decker with lots of kids..... hmmmmm!!!!:)

Ok to answer your questions, its not impossible to match your income but it could potentially take a while. once you have got past the initial registration bit which can take between 6-9 months (ICP, checks, first aid, crb's etc etc) you are going to have to find work. I know you said you have checked out the other minders (who are obviously rude moos if they are not interested in helping you out and they see you as competition) but have you actually checked out the demand? Give FIS a call to see if there is a deficit in childcare in your area and would you be helping to fill a gap.