PDA

View Full Version : when is a good time?

BlondeMoment
17-05-2010, 04:05 PM
I've yet to tackle an SEF. Been minding now for two months. You reckon I should attempt it now or is it still a bit early? Don't know much about it to be honest

sarah707
17-05-2010, 04:40 PM
Do it a bit at a time, start when you have some spare moments... it won't seem so big if you take it slowly.

You know where we are if you need any help :D

BlondeMoment
18-05-2010, 08:20 AM
LOL Guessing it's big then. Thanks Sarah x

mummyjo
19-05-2010, 08:40 AM
I've been minding for 4 months now and I started mine about 2 weeks ago- only because ofsted are coming in 4 weeks!

A big tip- buy Sarah's e-book! I honestly could not have done it without this- thanks Sarah!!! I am about 1/3 way through now and so far it has taken about 8 hours work- I will be glad when it's done put it that way!

Another tip- save it to your computer/word doc. The firts time I tried to save mine on the ofsted online site it didn't save and I had to re-do it.:(

babs
19-05-2010, 03:59 PM
all this talk about sef i really need to do mine, ive been putting it off and off by the time i get round to it i will be due another inspection...:eek: :eek: :eek:

v 1461
26-05-2010, 01:35 PM
Hello,

It took me about 30 hours to write it and it is far from being perfect!!!!!
It took me a while to answer some of the questions, and there was lots of thinking in between ...
v

BlondeMoment
27-05-2010, 08:18 AM
How often do we have to do them?

sarah707
27-05-2010, 08:32 AM
How often do we have to do them?

It is recommended to keep your SEF updated... at least every 6 months :D

samb
02-09-2010, 07:53 AM
Oh me goodness - I was on here looking for the answer to this exact question - when should I complete my first one? I didn't realise it was a huge document I just presumed it was a quick questionnairre!!! I don't think my early years team covered that very well in my course!!! Think I'd better have a look!

BlondeMoment