PDA

View Full Version : 1st floor flat AND 2 indoor cats.....will this work???

nicki2002
16-04-2010, 08:29 AM
Hi all,

I am starting the ICP course next week and am having second thoughts about doing childminding. Not because I don't want to but my husband really doesn't think I'll be able to manage. We live in a 1st floor 2 bedroom flat which isn't massive but I think is big enough to have children in. We have no garden but we have a safe communal garden the children can play in with my supervision, woods and a park accross the road and my mother in law is a childminder with a fab garden we would be able to visit. Also we have 2 rescued indoor cats which will probably run and hide as soon as the children come oh and 2 snakes. I think the anilmal thing will be fine as the snakes are locked and only corn snakes....wouldn't hurt a thing!

Can I PLEASE have some advise as feeling pretty low atm,

Thanks Nicki x

clio0602
16-04-2010, 04:13 PM
Hi I'm not an expert but I think the pets would be no problem with correct hygiene procedures etc.

Being in a flat would only be a problem if you were limited on space where ofsted could possibly reduce the maximum numbers of children you could have with the space to child ratio (not quite sure of the numbers tho sorry). And maybe getting children in buggies up and down stairs if there was no lift?
Just risk assess!

As long as you can show the children have access to outdoor play everyday the garden shouldn't be an issue.

I'd say go for it :thumbsup:

tulip0803
16-04-2010, 04:30 PM