PDA

View Full Version : Im thinking of becoming a childminder

rachel1
11-12-2007, 02:26 PM
Hi everyone, :)

I have being looking at all your messages and you all sound very helpful people. Hoping you can help me too!

I am attending a briefing on Friday to discuss becoming a childminder its just im only 19, and have no children of my own, it has always being my dream to work with children and when I moved out with my partner Adam I decided I was going to go for it.
Do you think I am too young?
Like I said it has always being my dream to work with children and hoping when/if I do become a childminder parents will see my love for the job and not see my young age being a problem. What do you think?

I have a BTEC National Diploma in health Care and have worked in nurseries and schools, which I really enjoyed.

I am currently working as a customer services administrator and to put it bluntly can’t stand the job, lol.

Please reply, also any advice from anyone would be appreciated.

Cheers

LittleMissSparkles
11-12-2007, 02:33 PM
Hi Rachael

Go for it, Age shouldnt come into it, if you are capable of caring for children and parents can see that then it will not matter, There's someone on here who is 21 I think, I dont see why it should be a problem anyway.

Good Luck xxx

Polly2
11-12-2007, 02:38 PM
age shouldn't be a problem

its love of kids that counts and it sounds like you have that :)

see how you feel after the briefing session, but I would say you go for it

take care
holly

Alak123
11-12-2007, 02:48 PM
Hi Rachel

I think its a great idea at your age you will have loads of energy and young outlook.

I qualified as a nanny at your age and got a 17 year career out of it and then decided to become a childminder this year and apart from some teething problems I have not looked back. I also have no children of my own so I can give lots of attention and time to other people's.

Lets us know how you get on.:)

Alak xx

Minnie Minx
11-12-2007, 03:09 PM