PDA

View Full Version : Bit controversial -this one!!!

FussyElmo
07-01-2010, 07:19 AM
http://uk.news.yahoo.com/21/20100106/tsc-breastfeeding-benefits-questioned-4b158bc.html

Blackhorse
07-01-2010, 07:41 AM
I dont know the answer but I do believe that breastfeeding is overall better for the children as it is what nature intended for them to do.

obviously if the mum eats only junk, smokes and drinks and god knows what else then maybe formula is best. but then I am no expert and have no proof for or against it.

I do believe though that bfing helps kids fight some bugs as they get immunity from the mum and I believe they have less wind etc as sucking is natural and not through teets which might have the wrong size..
I also think it gives the kids a lot more comfort being so close to mum as it is very intimate.

but then again nobody should be forced to breastfeed and if it doesnt work it doesnt work. Nobody should feel guilty (or should be made to feel guilty) if it doesnt work.

I agree that it is environmentally and economically better to bf as it doesnt cost extra....and honestly...I am lazy at 3 am and rather lie down beside dd to bf her than go and make up a bottle...that has to be also said!!

but these discussions will continue as long as there are babies....

Hebs
07-01-2010, 09:22 AM
i dont believe breast is best,

what is best is a feeding choice that makes mum's AND babies happy and that might not be brest feeding.

I did not 100% want to breastfeed, personal choice but not a chance, and i have not once felt guilty about it.

i find it funny that the goverment advises "breast is best" as it helps the immune system, and then proceeds from 2 months of age to pump vaccinations full of chemicals into our babies bodies :rolleyes:

Blackhorse
07-01-2010, 09:48 AM
I know you dont like vaccinations and I get why but surely you cannot argue with them having helped millions of children!!

Annie_T
07-01-2010, 09:52 AM