PDA

View Full Version : Two children under 1y?

king
10-11-2009, 09:01 PM
I have just been to my pre-reg meeting. I have a 3y little boy and a 5 month baby. I would like to start childminding in Feb. My baby will then be 8 months and I would like to have my cousins baby who will be 10 months. I am a qualified nursery nurse with 10 years experience. How likely do you think it is that Ofsted will allow this? I know usually you are only allowed one child under 1y, but they do make exceptions for twins. Has anyone any experience or knowledge of this?

PRINCESSDAISYFLOWER
10-11-2009, 09:37 PM
I will be extremly suprised if they let you have 2 under 1's so i dont think your chances are good, They allow it with twins so they dont get split up.

sarah707
10-11-2009, 10:02 PM
It's highly unlikely - my DO was only saying this morning that they are really cracking down on variations at the moment.

You can only ask... there is a form you will need to fill in once you are registered.

They are taking up to 12 weeks to process variations though so the children will probably be 1 by the time you find out the result! :rolleyes:

Hth :D

balloon
10-11-2009, 10:02 PM
I had two under ones within a month of being registered. I also had a background in the baby room of a nursery. It's worth a try.

sweets
10-11-2009, 10:05 PM
if you dont get the variation, one way round the propb would be to work at your cousins house as a nanny for 2 months until the baby is 1. it would be nothing to do with ofsted then.

solly
10-11-2009, 10:55 PM
When I had the complaint made against me the inspector decided it was a good idea to change my certificate to cover the early years register as i was inspected last year so had an old certificate.

My certificate reads:

The registered person