PDA

View Full Version : Am new, lost and very confused! Sorry!

PinkFairy24
05-11-2009, 06:58 PM
Hello there! Thanks for letting me post here.

I'm Claire and I completed a level one diploma course in home based childcare online a year ago as I am in full time work (adult nursing) but planning on having kids and becoming a childminder. I am now married, six months pregnant and looking into continuing with registering!

I did a two day first aid course last month but am now not sure where to go?

I did contact the local council about six months ago about childminding and went to a meeting which was really negative. It was going on about how few jobs there are and trying to put people off. It didn't mention anything about how to apply to be a childminder or about the EYFS. I only knew that I had to do the level one diploma and a first aid course because I read it online with the NEC.

Now I feel like I have done everything backwards!! :panic: Am not sure if the courses I have done will expire before I can register?

I am due in February next year and wanted to be ready to start childminding a year later after I am all settled with little one! I am planning on taking a year off on maternity leave but then going back for two months to pay back my maternity pay. Was just trying for once to be organised and get everything done, but thinking that there may be a time that I need to register and I have missed it?

I know that I need a CRB check as does my husband as we live together. I do have one from my job but know that I will need to have another one and the house needs to be checked.

Am also lost on all the observations and paper work I will need to do? Will I get more training on this as I'm really stuck. :idea:

Thanks for reading this, I know that I am asking a lot when I have just descended on you, am just not sure where else to go. :blush:

Love Claire X x X

Chatterbox Childcare
05-11-2009, 08:26 PM