PDA

View Full Version : Arrgh, in a pickle with car being serviced!

Ripeberry
04-11-2009, 05:26 PM
My husband booked my car in for a service this Friday and at first I thought, Oh that's OK because I would take MY girls up to school using HIS car as it's not involving childminding.
But then, my mindee's mum yesterday asks me if I can have J early on Friday and like a fool I say yes.
Now I'm in a pickle as my husband will be leaving for work early in the morning taking MY car and I'll basically be stuck at home, needing to get my girls to school with a car that I can't use for business use, although I'm a named driver :mad:
I rang the insurance company and the current underwritter won't cover me and the renewal is due at the end of this month, it would cost a fortune to change over and there would be a automatic £50 canx charge on top!
Although the school is only 1 mile away, it is on country roads with no paths and lots of lorries going up and down so TOO dangerous to walk.
I think the only option is to find a neighbour to take MY girls to school.
Thank goodness, mindee goes home before 3pm on Fridays, at least then I'll be able to use my husband's car :thumbsup:
How does everyone else manage? What do you do if your car is off the road and it is impossible to do your job without it? :huh:

FizzysFriends
04-11-2009, 05:29 PM
I use my moms car as she rarely goes anywhere on her own.

Ripeberry
04-11-2009, 06:00 PM
Fizzy, so she drives you around? That would be great, your own chauffeur, but if you had a claim what would you put down as the reason for the journey? Is your mum insured for business use? Insurance companies are very good at putting two and two together.

Alibali
04-11-2009, 06:04 PM
We have a multi car policy, so I can use dh's car for business use too. Could you get a taxi for the one day?

FizzysFriends
04-11-2009, 06:29 PM